Previously known as Serowe/Palapye Sub District, the sub council was dissolved to operate as Administrative Authorities for Serowe and Palapye in April 2009 as a way of bringing services closer to the public.


Palapye Administrative Authority serves twenty nine (27) villages namely Palapye, Mogome, Mokgware, Radisele, Lecheng, Malaka, Matlhakola, Manaledi, Goo Tau, Goo Sekgweng, Mokungwane, Ratholo, Majwaneng, Lerala, Maunatlala, Mokokwana, Mosweu, Seolwane, Mogapi, Mogapinyana, Lesenepole, Kgagodi, Moremi, Diloro, Tamasane, Topisi and Moreomabele . In terms of leadership, the Senior Assistant Council Secretary is Mr Lucky MAOTO and the political wing is headed by Honourable Councillor Mr. Lesedi Phuthego as the Sub Council Chairperson. Palapye Administrative Authority has 29 councilors of which 25 were elected and 4 nominated.


The sub council is located at the centre of the district, it borders with Serowe Administrative Authority in the west, Mahalapye Sub in the south and Tonota Sub Council on the northern side. It also borders with the Republic of South Africa in the eastern side.


Palapye, the headquarters of Palapye Administrative Authority is in a semi urban area. With its comparative location the Sub council headquarters is connected to other places in many ways. Palapye is strategically located at a junction of major national roads that is Palapye-Serowe-Orapa Road, Palapye Martins Drift Road as well as the Gaborone Francistown highway.


Partnership- Community involvement in making decisions, meaningful participation by other players-role player, teamwork, consultation, commitment


Empowerment – Decentralisation of decision making, resources, involvement

Customer focus – Timelines, People Centred Development

Transparency –Effective communication, information sharing, feedback the norm, rules/regulations/procedures are clear.




We provide the following services


  • Security i.e. fire safety services inspections

  • Design, construct and maintain roads

  • Social services i.e. social and community development

  • Primary school and other educational services in relation to primary education

  • Environmental Health services

  • Make bye- laws and carry into effect such

  • Relief from natural disaster

  • Protect of property such as, stray livestock and other domestic animals, Cemeteries, markets, Recreational grounds and other public places.